NWM 2012

October 17, 2012 § 52 Comments

Yes, it’s been 2 and a half months since I’ve made a post, but at least a hell of a lot of running has happened since then, though probably not nearly enough…

The Nike Women’s Marathon was last weekend and though I took tapering a little too seriously (one 4-mile run in the 2 weeks before the race) I didn’t fare TOO poorly. Finished with a 1:54:45, which put me in the top 5% of my age category for the half! Though I suspect the popularity of the Tiffany’s finisher’s necklace attracting non-runners may have skewed the stats in my favour… Stats aside, I still felt like a champ crossing that finish line to receive this beauty:

(I really am a master Instagram photographer, thank you very much.)

Ha, though I wasn’t exactly a beauty myself running out there…

(Like my new sports bra?) Someone really needs to tell us novice runners to smile during a race so we don’t end up looking like we’re in labour.

The course was pretty fun if you as me, though I don’t have many halfs to compare it to. The hills weren’t nearly what you’d expect of San Francisco and what scenery I could see through the fog was pretty spectacular. With so many runners the course is rather crowded for the first couple of miles though, so you either need to push your way to the front of the start line or admit PB defeat.

The best part about this race is the before/after fun in the city, though that’s probably the best part about ALL races… who actually LIKES running anyways…?

The entire city is buzzing as early as Friday for Sunday’s 25,000 runner event. Union Square is home to the Nike expo as well as the 3-storey Niketown, which is pulsating from some dj’s obnoxiously loud music. I’m sure they do it to prevent you from thinking too much about your purchases – it’s literally a “get in and get out” shopping experience to save your ears. Luckily the buyer’s remorse is offset by the copious number of freebies you get over the weekend – I almost had to buy another suitcase for all that Neutrogena beautifying goop they give you.

Overall, the NWM is a fantastically fun time for a group of girls and totally makes the old ones feel young again, or maybe that’s just because they were hanging out with me… say hi to me and my mom’s friends:

Mimosas!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 52 Responses to NWM 2012

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading NWM 2012 at Jello Legs.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 331 other followers

